Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

K.O. Götz

Biography

1914 Born as Karl Otto Götz in Aachen
1932 Attends the weaving school and at the same time the arts and crafts school in Aachen
1935-45 Banned from painting and exhibiting by the Reich Chamber of Culture during the Nazi era
1946 First solo exhibition at Studio Rasch in Wuppertal-Elberfeld through the mediation of Willi Baumeister
1948 Art Prize Young West
1949 Member of the COBRA group
1952 Founding member of the artists' association "Quadriga", together with Otto Greis, Heinz Kreutz and Bernard Schultze
1954 Founds the artist group "Phases" with Edouard Jaguer in Paris and has his first solo exhibition at the Galerie Raymond Creuze, Paris. First solo exhibition in the USA at Zoe Dusanne's gallery, Seattle.
1956 Götz exhibits with K.R.H. Sonderborg at the Kestner-Gesellschaft in Hanover
1957 Participates in the first exhibition in the "Galerie 22", newly founded by Jean Pierre Wilhelm in Düsseldorf. Participates in the first two Informel exhibitions in the Museum Wiesbaden, title: "Couleur vivante" and in the Kunsthalle Mannheim, title: "Eine neue Richtung in der Malerei". 
1958 Participation in the Venice Biennale
1959 Participation in documenta 2, Kassel
1959-79 Professor at the Düsseldorf Art Academy, among his students are Gotthard Graubner, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter and Franz Erhardt Walther
1963 Participation in the Tokyo Biennale, Tokyo
1968 Participation in the Venice Biennale
1982 Participation in the "Symposium Informel" in the Saarlandmuseum, Saarbrücken - organiser Georg. W. Költzsch. The symposium is recorded by ZDF and broadcast in the series "Witnesses of the Century". 1983 The symposium is published by the Georg Nothelfer Gallery in conjunction with an exhibition in the Saarlandmuseum entitled "Die Malerei der Informellen heute".
1994 Retrospective at the Albertinum in Dresden
2010 Retrospective at the Arp Museum, Bahnhof Rolandseck in Remagen
2013 Retrospective at the New National Gallery in Berlin
2017 Died in Wolfenacker

K.O. Götz is one of the most important representatives of German Informel and is known for his gestural-abstract painting. In the early 1950s he found his typical painting style by developing a squeegee technique: In rapid working steps, he applies dark colour to a light painting ground with a brush and then partially removes it again with a squeegee. In this way, he captures the colours in waves on the canvas or on the paper. He also became known for his work with the paint brush, with which he applied his colours to the canvas spread out on the floor, sometimes with enormous physical effort. In general, Götz regarded painting in particular as a physical challenge, which he faced with all his strength, reminiscent of the famous action painting of the American artist Jackson Pollock. Although Götz always acted out of a certain impulsiveness and also strove to execute his work as quickly as possible, his works nevertheless always had a deliberate, controlled structure.

Exhibitions

Editions

  • O.T./Untitled, 1988, Serigraphy, Aufl. 32/70, 89,8 x 69,7 cm, Copies: 70

    Enquiry

.

Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

K.O. Götz

Biografie

1914 Geboren als Karl Otto Götz in Aachen
1932 Besuch der Webeschule und gleichzeitig der Kunstgewerbeschule in Aachen
1935-45 Mal- und Ausstellungsverbot durch die Reichskulturkammer in der Nazizeit
1946 Erste Einzelausstellung im Studio Rasch in Wuppertal-Elberfeld auf Vermittlung von Willi Baumeister
1948 Kunstpreis Junger Westen
1949 Mitglied der Gruppe COBRA
1952 Gründungsmitglied der Künstlervereinigung "Quadriga", gemeinsam mit Otto Greis, Heinz Kreutz und Bernard Schultze
1954 Gründung der Künstlergruppe „Phases“ mit Edouard Jaguer in Paris und erste Einzelausstellung in der Galerie Raymond Creuze, Paris. Erste Einzelausstellung in den USA in der Galerie von Zoe Dusanne, Seattle
1956 Götz stellt mit K.R.H. Sonderborg in der Kestner-Gesellschaft in Hannover aus
1957 Teilnahme an der ersten Ausstellung in der von Jean Pierre Wilhelm in Düsseldorf neu gegründeten "Galerie 22". Teilnahme an den ersten beiden Informel-Ausstellungen im Museum Wiesbaden, Titel: „Couleur vivante“ und in der Kunsthalle Mannheim, Titel: „Eine neue Richtung in der Malerei“ 
1958 Teilnahme an der Biennale Venedig
1959 Teilnahme an der documenta 2, Kassel
1959-79 Professur an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, zu seinen Schülern zählen u.a. Gotthard Graubner, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter, Franz Erhardt Walther
1963 Teilnahme an der Tokyo Biennale, Tokio
1968 Teilnahme an der Biennale Venedig
1982 Teilnahme am "Symposium Informel" im Saarlandmuseum, Saarbrücken – Veranstalter Georg. W. Költzsch. Das Symposium wird vom ZDF mitgeschnitten und in der Reihe „Zeugen des Jahrhunderts“ gesendet. 1983 wird das Symposium als Publikation von der Galerie Georg Nothelfer veröffentlicht, verbunden mit einer Ausstellung im Saarlandmuseum "Die Malerei der Informellen heute"
1994 Retrospektive im Albertinum in Dresden
2010 Retrospektive im Arp Museum, Bahnhof Rolandseck in Remagen
2013 Retrospektive in der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin
2017 Gestorben in Wolfenacker

K.O. Götz ist einer der wichtigsten Vertreter des deutschen Informel und bekannt für seine gestisch-abstrakte Malerei. Anfang der 1950er Jahre findet er zu der für ihn typischen Malweise, indem er eine Rakeltechnik entwickelt: In schnellen Arbeitsgängen setzt er mit dem Pinsel dunkle Farbe auf einen hellen Malgrund und trägt anschließend diese mit einer Rakel teilweise wieder ab. Auf diese Weise bannt er die Farben in Wogen auf die Leinwand oder auf das Papier. Bekannt wurde auch seine Arbeit mit der Farbbürste, mit der er seine Farben unter teils enormen körperlichen Anstrengungen auf der am Boden ausgebreiteten Leinwand auftrug. Überhaupt betrachtete Götz das Malen in Sonderheit als physische Herausforderung, der er sich mit ganzer Kraft stellte und dabei an das berühmte Action Painting des amerikanischen Künstlers Jackson Pollock erinnerte. Dabei agierte Götz zwar stets aus einer gewissen Getriebenheit heraus und mühte sich auch um eine möglichst schnelle Ausführung, seine Werke besaßen aber dennoch stets eine überlegte, kontrollierte Struktur.

Ausstellungen

Editionen

  • O.T./Untitled, 1988, Siebdruck, 89,8 x 69,7 cm, Auflage: 70

    Anfrage

.