Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

Robert Schad

Biography

Born 1953 in Ravensburg
1974-80 Studied art at the State Academy of Fine Arts, Karlsruhe
1980-81 DAAD scholarship at the Escola Superior de Belas Artes, Porto/Portugal
1988 Scholarship from the Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris
1989/90 Wilhelm Lehmbruck Scholarship of the City of Duisburg; Visiting Professor for Sculpture at the State Academy of Fine Arts, Stuttgart
2002 First solo exhibition at the Galerie Georg Nothelfer
2007 Working residency at "La Vie des Formes" - Mark di Suvero Foundation, Chalon sur Saône
2018/19 "DEUX VILLES - TWO CITIES" sculpture project in Metz and Saarlouis/France
Lives and works in Larians/France and in Chamosinhos/Portugal

The sculptor Robert Schad creates drawings in space from solid square steel. Lines are not created by bending and twisting, but by the addition of straight parts of different lengths that are welded together. The welds are sanded, thus appearing organic, joint-like. The graphic movement unfolds plastically in space in wide sweeps and arches. The heaviness of the solid steel is lifted. A progressive form with human proportions emerges to develop dance-like in space. His sculptures can be found in over 50 cities in Germany and abroad, for example in front of the Federal Ministry of Finance in Berlin. 

Exhibitions

Publications

  • Der Linie lang/Through the Line, 2009, Edited by Gerline Brandenburger-Eisele, Hana Jirmusová, Clemens Ottnad, Bettina Ruhrberg, Roland Scotti. German/English. 160 pages. Numerous illustrations. Hardcover, EUR 28

    Order

  • Ausstellungskatalog/Exhibition Catalogue, 2001, On the occasion of the exhibition at the Museum für Neue Kunst Freiburg 2001/2002 and at the Städtische Galerie Delmenhorst 2002/2003. Ed. Museum für Neue Kunst Freiburg, texts by Jochen Ludwig, Isabel Herda, Johannes Odenthal, German/English/French/Spanish, 96 pages, numerous illustrations, hard cover, ISBN 3-922675-79-4, EUR 19

    Order

.

Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

Robert Schad

Biografie

Geboren 1953  in Ravensburg
1974–80 Kunststudium an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Karlsruhe
1980-81 Stipendium des DAAD an der Escola Superior de Belas Artes, Porto/Portugal
1988 Stipendium der Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris
1989/90 Wilhelm-Lehmbruck-Stipendium der Stadt Duisburg; Gastprofessur für Bildhauerei an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Stuttgart
2002 Erste Einzelausstellung in der Galerie Georg Nothelfer
2007 Arbeitsaufenthalt in »La Vie des Formes« – Stiftung Mark di Suvero, Chalon sur Saône
2018/19 "DEUX VILLES - ZWEI STÄDTE" Skulpturenprojekt in Metz und Saarlouis/Frankreich
Lebt und arbeitet in Larians/Frankreich und in Chamosinhos/Portugal

Der Bildhauer Robert Schad schafft aus massivem Vierkantstahl Zeichnungen im Raum. Linien entstehen dabei nicht durch Biegen und Verbiegen, sondern aus der Addition unterschiedlich langer, gerader Teile, die verschweißt werden. Die Schweißstellen werden verschliffen, erscheinen dadurch organisch, gelenkartig. Die zeichnerische Bewegung entfaltet sich in weiten Schwüngen und Bögen plastisch im Raum. Die Schwere des massiven Stahls ist aufgehoben. Es entsteht eine Verlaufsform mit menschlichen Proportionen, um sich tänzerisch im Raum zu entwickeln. Seine Skulpturen finden sich in über 50 Städten im In- und Ausland, so z.B. vor dem Bundesministerium für Finanzen in Berlin. 

Ausstellungen

Publikationen

  • Der Linie lang/Through the Line, 2009, Hrsg. Gerline Brandenburger-Eisele, Hana Jirmusová, Clemens Ottnad, Bettina Ruhrberg, Roland Scotti. Deutsch/Englisch. 160 Seiten. Zahlreiche Abbildungen. Hardcover., EUR 28

    Bestellen

  • Ausstellungskatalog/Exhibition Catalogue, 2001, Anlässlich der Ausstellung im Museum für Neue Kunst Freiburg 2001/2002 und in der Städtischen Galerie Delmenhorst 2002/2003. Hrsg. Museum für Neue Kunst Freiburg, Texte von Jochen Ludwig, Isabel Herda, Johannes Odenthal, deutsch/englisch/französisch/spanisch, 96 Seiten, zahlreiche Abbildungen, Hardcover, ISBN 3-922675-79-4, EUR 19

    Bestellen

.