Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.

2 July to 4 September 2021 ⟶ Showroom

 Installation view
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Installation view
Britta Lumer (2020) 03. October 2020 (101), Collage, Charcoal on Paper 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 03. October 2020 (101), Collage, Charcoal on Paper 42 x 29,7 cm 
 Eduardo Chillida (1969) Beltza II, Ed.51/75, Woodcut on japanese Paper, 63,5 x 94,5 cm (WV69005) 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Eduardo Chillida (1969) Beltza II, Ed.51/75, Woodcut on japanese Paper, 63,5 x 94,5 cm (WV69005) 
Installation view
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Installation view
Eduardo Chillida (1979) Esku XII, Edition 15/50, Etching, Rives BFK, 48 x 38,5 cm (WV 73007) 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Eduardo Chillida (1979) Esku XII, Edition 15/50, Etching, Rives BFK, 48 x 38,5 cm (WV 73007) 
 Britta Lumer (2020), 11. October 2020 (055), Collage, Carcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020), 11. October 2020 (055), Collage, Carcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
Eduardo Chillida (1997) Lagunkide, Edition H.C.1/15, Aquatinta Etching, Esculan gris, 80,5 x 61 cm (WV97014) 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Eduardo Chillida (1997) Lagunkide, Edition H.C.1/15, Aquatinta Etching, Esculan gris, 80,5 x 61 cm (WV97014) 
Installation view
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Installation view
 Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (100), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (100), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
 Eduardo Chillida (1997) Jorge Semprún: L'Ecriture ou la vie, Aquatinta Etching, Arches BFK for the Book with texts by  Jorges Semprún, Edition 36/100, 38 x 28 cm (WV970179) 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Eduardo Chillida (1997) Jorge Semprún: L'Ecriture ou la vie, Aquatinta Etching, Arches BFK for the Book with texts by  Jorges Semprún, Edition 36/100, 38 x 28 cm (WV970179) 
Installation view
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Installation view
 Britta Lumer (2020), 30. October 2020 (023), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020), 30. October 2020 (023), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
 Eduardo Chillida (2000), Untitled (from Aromas) Etching, Edition 57/120, 53,5 x 42,5 cm (WV00007) 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Eduardo Chillida (2000), Untitled (from Aromas) Etching, Edition 57/120, 53,5 x 42,5 cm (WV00007) 
Installation view
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Installation view
 Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (025), Collage, Charcoal on Paper,  42 x 29,7 cm  
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (025), Collage, Charcoal on Paper,  42 x 29,7 cm  
 Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (046), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (046), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
Installation view
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Installation view
 Britta Lumer (2020) 16. August, 2020 (045), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 16. August, 2020 (045), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
 Britta Lumer (2020) 19. September 2020 (098), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 19. September 2020 (098), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
 Britta Lumer (2020) 18. September 2020 (097), Collage, Charcoal on Paper 42 x 29,7cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 18. September 2020 (097), Collage, Charcoal on Paper 42 x 29,7cm 
 Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (102) Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (102) Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (099), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (099), Collage, Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
Installation view
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Installation view
 Britta Lumer, (2019) O.T. (Head 2), Charcoal on Paper, 95 x 70 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer, (2019) O.T. (Head 2), Charcoal on Paper, 95 x 70 cm 
 Britta Lumer (2020) 25. October 2020 (058) ,Collage; Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 25. October 2020 (058) ,Collage; Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
 Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (047), Collage,Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (047), Collage,Charcoal on Paper, 42 x 29,7 cm 
Showroom Galerie Georg Nothelfer
Grolmanstraße 28
10623 Berlin

Soft Opening July, 2 from 12 - 19h. Britta Lumer will be present from 16 - 19h.

Britta Lumer /  Eduardo Chillida
The evening moves slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.  

It’s twenty years since I first visited Britta Lumer's Berlin-Kreuzberg studio-living space. Today, I made a comparable trip. Some of the street graffiti has changed – more silver-egotism, less overt politics. But her building's stairs still look and smell like 1995. Through an entrance hall lined with art materials we ended up back at her kitchen table, surrounded by her images. There are many more of them since last time: on the walls, in neat stacks, layout on tables, stored in archive boxes. We are older but that wasn't our doing. We are silent. I wait and look around. The artist makes coffee. It's sweltering. A studio practice is more than a practical or economic matter – it evidences ethics and beliefs about how art and life should get along or end in acrimony. I make a note: 'hindsight – art?' that goes nowhere. A pigeon, whose curiosity disturbed our conversation, could be a distant relation of one that squatted the neighbourhood on my first visit. Lumer shoos it away – we need space.              
Through the immersive presence of her work we regroup, cohabit a ripple in 'contemporary art' spacetime. Establishing the continuum are dozens of sheets of thick paper held aloft by nifty magnets on grey walls. Charcoal, watercolour or ink haunts these images depicting moody architecture, or heads and bodies afflicted by abstract thoughts. There are angles, vectors, tonal clouds and blooms, shadows and highlights. Notional pictorial spaces multiply in her compositions. They move, flow, dissolve: tease the vagrancy of perception. They probe and prod the border territory where the recognisable and reasonable ends, or stray in the face of uncertainty.               
Lumer is thoughtful, consistent and resolute. You can see and feel this in the sensitivity apparent in her works' tonal washes, the varying thickness of a line, the arch of a curve. If I lived with one of these pictures, it would be different every day. Their eyes and mouths – or what we identify as such – might move, swap places. The atmosphere would shift, the mood alter. We get interrupted. Someone telephones querying a small invoice. The artist in profile is eager to hang up, time is precious and passing. 'It's resolved... I have to go...' Lumer apologises, then summons up the image of the woman in her office engrossed in her own world of figures and papers. A life-collage, a parallel.             
I ask Lumer something unintelligible concerning the role of spirituality. She answers that for a while that she studied meditation with a Zen master. Then she talks of traditional Chinese ink painting, although she couldn't imagine giving up the Western excitement for the new, the speculative in favour of the discipline of evermore refined gestural repetition. A question suggested by her work hangs between us. Is there a way to examine the self in a selfless fashion? It is too easy to get caught up in reactions and relations; discourse as art's endgame. Aesthetic experience is not just a vehicle but that which distinguishes art from ideas.      
Lumer doesn't question 'being an artist'. It is something that she does. Art must be its own reward. Her work is free of cynicism, self-protective irony, chic summation, fashionable topicality or posturing. Dozens of works evidence this artistic freedom. One based on the praxis of cultivating intuition, revisiting, looking within and questioning what one might find there, acknowledging the light and the dark, the spectrum of shades in between. Her images rise to the surface, involve personal discovery. Her female heads and figures (self portraits, Ur-women?) suggest a disquieting psychological dimension, a restlessness about the status quo, maybe an implicit, non-partisan feminism, a state of flux, grappling and change. A strict, documentary colour pallet suggests an ongoing investigation, a need for a revelatory body of evidence. One that is ephemeral, not exculpatory. Her brave life choice to date to work almost exclusively 'on paper' speaks volumes. It is testament to values such as modesty and humility; a faith in authenticity, directness, and truth (or fleeting glimpses thereof). These qualities are intrinsic to the materiality of the work: paper thin as skin and allergic to acidity, archaic charcoal and granules of water borne pigment. As we talk, the artist holds up a jar containing enough colour to last a decade. 'My work is nearly immaterial,' she says.     
On of the two directors of Galerie Georg Nothelfer told me she thinks we live in times comparable to the late Baroque period when art is expected to be ever more spectacular, novel, dazzling. This two-person exhibition is a welcome antidote to the fibrillating cultural compass of neo-liberal postmodernism. The exhibition's title quotes a poetic and speculative artist's text 'Questions' (1994) by Eduardo Chillida (1924-2002). Throughout his life, alongside his monumental abstract works in steel, alabaster and felt, Chillida maintained a discrete practice of refined conceptual works on paper. He considered his around 700 drawings, etchings and woodcuts not as studies for his sculptures, but complete works in and of themselves. They exist in a different dimension in every sense to his sculpture, for instance, Berlin (2000), sentinel in front of the Chancellery behind a security fence. The gallery's unlikely pairing of these two artists has an abstract rationale. The gallery with its storied history mediating postwar abstraction wishes to support intergenerational dialogue. One which in this exhibition hinges on both artists' affinity to expressing notions of space and time in two modest, concentrated dimensions.      
Included in the exhibition is an excerpt from a series of Britta Lumer's collages incorporating snippets from the West German magazine 'Magnum' (1954-1966). The works were produced day by day in her studio during the period of isolation and introspection that was 2020 as we sheltered from viral infection. The magazine issues used were 'found objects' once part of an abandoned library in a countryside retreat owned by an entrepreneur with waning fortunes as well as cultural and artistic leanings which, for him, remained a promise unconsummated. Magnum magazine was once the purveyor of classy and confident postwar architecture, art, designer objects. Glossy, high-contrast, black-and-white. Lumer's father wanted to be a Magnum photographer. It was also the kind of publication that may have featured an emergent Chillida. Cultural entropy at work. In Lumer's series the now abandoned construction site of full-tilt postwar Modernism is fragmented, digested and reconfigured. In 16.08.2020, untitled (2020) for instance, the hair of a makeup and costume designer for television sprouts wavering lines like vines and waves of empathetic, experiential, trans-generational energy made visible.               
His etchings suggest floor plans or diagrams – looking at them we see the weight of the printing press, the metal plate on paper, the traces of their own making. Chillida was an abstract artist but in his Esku series only superficially at odds with his own abstract orthodoxy he would return to making images of his own hands. For him, it was a part of the body that can best define space. His starting point: a thumb and index finger forming an organic circle, a porthole. The active space of materiality along with negative space redolent, not of a void, but of opening up to a horizon.  
 
Text: Dominic Eichler
.

Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.

2. Juli bis 4. September 2021 ⟶ Showroom

Ausstellungsansicht
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Ausstellungsansicht
Britta Lumer (2020) 03. Oktober 2020 (101) , Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 03. Oktober 2020 (101) , Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm 
Eduardo Chillida (1969) Beltza II,  Ed.51/75, Holzschnitt auf Japanpapier, 63,5 x 94,5 cm (WV69005)
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Eduardo Chillida (1969) Beltza II,  Ed.51/75, Holzschnitt auf Japanpapier, 63,5 x 94,5 cm (WV69005)
Ausstellungsansicht
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Ausstellungsansicht
Eduardo Chillida (1979)  Esku XII, Edition 15/50, Radierung, Rives BFK, 48 x 38,5 cm (WV 73007)
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Eduardo Chillida (1979)  Esku XII, Edition 15/50, Radierung, Rives BFK, 48 x 38,5 cm (WV 73007)
Britta Lumer (2020), 11. Oktober 2020 (055), Collage, Kohle auf Papier carcoal , 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020), 11. Oktober 2020 (055), Collage, Kohle auf Papier carcoal , 42 x 29,7 cm
Eduardo Chillida (1997) Lagunkide, Auflage H.C.1/15, Aquatinta Radierung, Esculan gris, 80,5 x 61 cm (WV97014)
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Eduardo Chillida (1997) Lagunkide, Auflage H.C.1/15, Aquatinta Radierung, Esculan gris, 80,5 x 61 cm (WV97014)
Ausstellungsansicht
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Ausstellungsansicht
Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (100), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (100), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Eduardo Chillida (1997) Jorge Semprún: L'Ecriture ou la vie, Aquatinta Radierung, Arches BFK zu Buch mit Texten von Jorges Semprún, Edition 36/100, 38 x 28 cm (WV970179)
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Eduardo Chillida (1997) Jorge Semprún: L'Ecriture ou la vie, Aquatinta Radierung, Arches BFK zu Buch mit Texten von Jorges Semprún, Edition 36/100, 38 x 28 cm (WV970179)
Ausstellungsansicht
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Ausstellungsansicht
Britta Lumer (2020), 30. Oktober 2020 (023), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020), 30. Oktober 2020 (023), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Eduardo Chillida (2000), O.T.(aus Aromas) Radierung, Auflage 57/120, 53,5 x 42,5 cm (WV00007)
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Eduardo Chillida (2000), O.T.(aus Aromas) Radierung, Auflage 57/120, 53,5 x 42,5 cm (WV00007)
Ausstellungsansicht
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Ausstellungsansicht
Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (025), Collage, Kohle auf Papier,  42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (025), Collage, Kohle auf Papier,  42 x 29,7 cm 
 Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (046), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm 
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
 Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (046), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm 
Ausstellungsansicht
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Ausstellungsansicht
Britta Lumer (2020) 16. August, 2020 (045), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 16. August, 2020 (045), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Britta Lumer (2020) 19. September 2020 (098), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 19. September 2020 (098), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Britta Lumer (2020) 18. September 2020 (097), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 18. September 2020 (097), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7cm
Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (102) Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 06. November 2020 (102) Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (099), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 15. September 2020 (099), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Ausstellungsansicht
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Ausstellungsansicht
Britta Lumer, (2019) O.T. (Kopf 2), Kohle auf Papier, 95 x 70 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer, (2019) O.T. (Kopf 2), Kohle auf Papier, 95 x 70 cm
Britta Lumer (2020) 25. Oktober 2020 (058) ,Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 25. Oktober 2020 (058) ,Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (047), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
The evening moves on slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.
Britta Lumer (2020) 20. September 2020 (047), Collage, Kohle auf Papier, 42 x 29,7 cm
Showroom Galerie Georg Nothelfer
Grolmanstraße 28
10623 Berlin

Soft Opening July, 2 from 12 - 19h. Britta Lumer will be present from 16 - 19h.

Britta Lumer  /  Eduardo Chillida
The evening moves slowly, and I, gazing, want to see.  

Es ist zwanzig Jahre her, daß ich Britta Lumer in ihrer Atelierwohnung in Berlin Kreuzberg zum ersten Mal besuchte. Heute habe ich wieder so einen Besuch gemacht. Die Graffiti in den Straßen sind anders – mehr Silber-Egoismus, dafür weniger offene Politik. Aber ihr Treppenhaus sieht immer noch so aus wie 1995 und es riecht auch so. Durch eine mit Kunstmaterialien gesäumte Eingangshalle gelangen wir zu ihrem Küchentisch und sind von ihren Bildern umgeben. Es sind viel mehr als beim letzten Mal: an den Wänden, in ordentlichen Stapeln, auf Tischen ausgebreitet, in Archivboxen gelagert. Wir sind älter, aber so ist das nunmal. Wir schweigen. Ich warte und schaue mich um. Die Künstlerin macht Kaffee. Es herrscht eine Bullenhitze. Die Arbeit im Atelier ist mehr als eine rein praktische oder wirtschaftliche Angelegenheit – sie zeugt von ethischen Überzeugungen und Glaubenssätzen darüber, wie Kunst und Leben zusammengehen oder etwa in Verbitterung enden. Ich mache mir eine Notiz: ‚Rückschau – Kunst?‘, die zu nichts führt. Eine Taube, deren Neugier unser Gespräch stört, könnte eine entfernte Verwandte jener sein, die sich bei meinem ersten Besuch in der Nachbarschaft eingenistet hatte. Lumer scheucht sie fort – wir brauchen Freiraum.
Mittels der immersiven Präsenz ihrer Arbeit gruppieren wir uns neu, bewohnen gemeinsam eine Welle in der Raumzeit der ‘zeitgenössischen Kunst’. Das Kontinuum bilden Dutzende dicker Papiere, die von flotten kleinen Magneten an grauen Wänden schwebend gehalten werden. Holzkohle, Wasserfarben oder Tusche spuken in diesen Bildern von gefühlvoller Architektur oder Köpfen und Körpern, die von abstrakten Gedanken geplagt sind. Da gibt es Winkel, Vektoren, tonale Wolken und Blüten, Schatten und Lichter. Fiktive Bildräume vervielfachen sich in ihren Kompositionen. Sie bewegen sich, fließen, lösen sich auf: sie reizen das Vage unserer Wahrnehmung. Sie loten das Grenzgebiet aus, in dem das Erkennbare und das Vernünftige endet oder verirren sich im Angesicht der Ungewissheit.
Lumer ist bedacht, konsequent und resolut. Sehen und spüren können Sie das in der Sensibilität, die sich in ihren farblichen Waschungen, der variierenden Stärke einer Linie oder dem Bogen einer Kurve zeigen. Lebte ich mit einem dieser Bilder, wäre es jeden Tag anders. Ihre Augen und Münder – oder das, was wir als solche identifizieren – könnten die Plätze tauschen. Die Atmosphäre würde sich verschieben, die Stimmung sich ändern. Wir werden unterbrochen. Jemand ruft an und fragt nach einer kleinen Rechnung. Die Künstlerin im Profil will ungeduldig auflegen, denn Zeit ist kostbar und läuft. ‚Das ist ja jetzt geklärt…ich muss jetzt weiter…‘ entschuldigt sich Lumer und beschwört sogleich das Bild dieser Frau in ihrem Büro sitzend herauf, versunken in einer ganz eigenen Welt von Zahlen und Papieren. Eine Lebens-Collage, eine Parallele.
Ich frage Lumer etwas Unverständliches über die Rolle der Spiritualität. Sie erwidert, dass sie eine Zeit lang Meditation bei einem Zen-Meister studiert hat. Dann spricht sie über traditionelle chinesische Tuschemalerei, obwohl sie sich nicht vorstellen konnte, die westliche Begeisterung für das Neue, das Spekulative aufzugeben, zugunsten einer immer verfeinerteren gestischen Wiederholung. Eine Frage, die ihre Arbeit nahelegt, steht zwischen uns. Gibt es einen Weg, das Selbst auf eine selbstlose Art zu untersuchen? Man wird zu leicht von Reaktionen und Beziehungen gefangen genommen, Diskurs als das Endspiel der Kunst. Ästhetische Erfahrung ist nicht nur ein Vehikel, sondern das, was Kunst von Ideen unterscheidet.
Lumer stellt ihr Sein als Künstlerin nicht in Frage. Sie macht das einfach. Kunst muss sich selbst Belohnung sein. Ihre Arbeit ist frei von Zynismus, selbstschützender Ironie, schicken Plädoyers, modischer Brisanz oder Pose. Dutzende von Arbeiten bezeugen diese künstlerische Freiheit. Eine Freiheit, die auf der Praxis beruht, Intuition zu kultivieren, sich zu besinnen, nach Innen zu schauen und zu hinterfragen, was man dort finden könnte, das Helle und das Dunkle anzuerkennen, das Spektrum der Schattierungen dazwischen. Ihre Bilder steigen an die Oberfläche, beinhalten persönliches Entdeckertum. Ihre weiblichen Köpfe und Figuren (Selbstportraits, Ur-Frauen?) rufen eine beunruhigende psychologische Dimension hervor, eine Unruhe über den Status Quo, vielleicht einen impliziten, unvoreingenommenen Feminismus, ein Zustand des Wandels, Auseinandersetzung und Veränderung. Eine strenge, dokumentarische Farbpalette verweist auf eine fortlaufende Untersuchung, ein Verlangen nach einer aufschlussreichen Beweislage. Eine, die vergänglich ist, nicht entlastend. Ihre mutige Lebensentscheidung bis heute, fast ausschließlich auf Papier‘ zu arbeiten, spricht Bände. Sie zeugt von Werten wie Bescheidenheit und Demut, den Glauben an Authentizität, Direktheit und Wahrheit (oder flüchtige Blicke darauf). Solche Qualitäten sind der Materialität der Arbeit eingeschrieben: Papier so dünn wie Haut und empfindlich gegen Säure, archaische Holzkohle und Granulat aus wasserbasiertem Pigment. Wie wir so sprechen, hält die Künstlerin ein Glas hoch, das genug Kohlepulver für ein ganzes Jahrzehnt beinhaltet. ‚Meine Arbeit ist fast immateriell‘ sagt sie.
Eine der beiden Co-Direktorinnen der Galerie Nothelfer sagte mir, sie denke, wir leben in Zeiten, die mit dem späten Barock vergleichbar sind, wenn von der Kunst erwartet wird, immer spektakulärer, neuartiger und schillernder zu sein. Diese Zwei-Personen-Ausstellung ist ein willkommenes Gegengift zum flimmernden kulturellen Kompass der neoliberalen Postmoderne.
Der Ausstellungstitel zitiert einen poetischen und spekulativen Künstlertext "Questions" (1994) von Eduardo Chillida (1924-2002). Zeit seines Lebens pflegte Chillida, neben seinen monumentalen abstrakten Werken aus Stahl, Alabaster und Filz, eine eigenständige Praktik mit feinen konzeptuellen Arbeiten auf Papier. Seine rund 700 Zeichnungen, Radierungen und Holzschnitte sah er nicht als Vorstudien für seine Skulpturen, sondern als völlig eigenständige Werke. Sie befinden sich in jeder Hinsicht in einer anderen Dimension als beispielsweise seine Skulptur ‚Berlin‘ (2000), die vor dem Kanzleramt hinter einem Sicherheitszaun wacht. Die ungewöhnliche Paarung der beiden Künstler in der Galerie hat einen abstrakten Grund. Die Galerie, mit ihrer traditionsreichen Geschichte als Vermittlerin der Nachkriegsabstraktion, möchte den Dialog zwischen den Generationen fördern. Ein Dialog, der sich in dieser Ausstellung um die Affinität beider Künstler dreht, Vorstellungen von Raum und Zeit in zwei bescheidenen, konzentrierten Dimensionen auszudrücken.
In der Ausstellung ist ein Teil einer Serie von Britta Lumers Collagen zu sehen, die Ausschnitte aus der westdeutschen Zeitschrift ‚Magnum‘ (1954-1966) enthalten. Die Arbeiten entstanden Tag um Tag in ihrem Atelier während der Zeit der Isolation und Selbstprüfung im Jahr 2020, als wir uns vor einer Virusinfektion schützten. Die verwendeten Magazinausgaben waren 'Fundstücke' aus einer verlassenen Bibliothek in einem Landhaus, das einem Unternehmer mit schwindendem Vermögen sowie kulturellen und künstlerischen Neigungen gehörte, die für ihn ein uneingelöstes Versprechen blieben. Das Magnum-Magazin war einst der Lieferant für stilvolle und selbstbewusste Nachkriegsarchitektur, Kunst, Designobjekte. Glänzend, kontrastreich, schwarz-weiß. Lumers Vater wollte ein Magnum-Fotograf werden. Es war auch die Art von Publikation, die einen aufstrebenden Chillida gezeigt haben könnte. Kulturelle Entropie am Werk. In den Serien von Lumer wird die inzwischen verlassene Baustelle der, auf Hochtouren laufenden, Nachkriegsmoderne fragmentiert, verdaut und neu konfiguriert. In 16.08.2020,’Ohne Titel’ (2020) etwa, sprießen aus den Haaren einer Make-Up- und Kostümdesignerin fürs Fernsehen wogende Linien wie Ranken und Wellen empathischer, erfahrungsgeladener, generationenübergreifender Energie, die sichtbar wird.
Chillidas Radierungen suggerieren Grundrisse oder Diagramme – in ihnen sehen wir das Gewicht der Druckpresse, die Metallplatte auf dem Papier, die Spuren ihrer eigenen Herstellung. Chillida war ein abstrakter Künstler, aber in seiner Serie Esku, die nur vordergründig im Widerspruch zu seiner eigenen abstrakten Orthodoxie stand, kehrte er dahin zurück, Bilder seiner eigenen Hände zu machen. Für ihn war die Hand der Teil des Körpers, mit dem man am besten einen Raum nachbilden kann. Sein Ausgangspunkt: ein Daumen und ein Zeigefinger, die einen organischen Kreis bilden, ein Bullauge. Der aktive Raum der Materialität zusammen mit negativem Raum, der nicht an eine Leere erinnert, sondern an das Öffnen hin zu einem Horizont.
 
Text: Dominic Eichler   
Übersetzung: Wolfgang Betke

.