Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

41/2 rooms. Groupshow

26 November 2021 to 29 January 2022 ⟶ Galerie

Installation View 4 1/2 rooms. Geerten Verheus, GROSSES GEGENTEIL, 2021, Rubber, steel, neon lamp, 210 x ø 80 cm. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View 4 1/2 rooms. Geerten Verheus, GROSSES GEGENTEIL, 2021, Rubber, steel, neon lamp, 210 x ø 80 cm. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View 4 1/2 rooms. Pegasus Product, Carola Ernst. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View 4 1/2 rooms. Pegasus Product, Carola Ernst. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Carola Ernst, there was an eye in a bight / that travelled much faster than light 
 it departed one day in a relative way / and arrived on the previous night, Mixed Media, 2009 ongoing, Closed: 167 x 84 x 40 cm (Dimensions variable), Edition: 3, two plates à 100 x 100 x 4 cm. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Carola Ernst, there was an eye in a bight / that travelled much faster than light 
 it departed one day in a relative way / and arrived on the previous night, Mixed Media, 2009 ongoing, Closed: 167 x 84 x 40 cm (Dimensions variable), Edition: 3, two plates à 100 x 100 x 4 cm. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Single pieces on request) Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, Geerten Verheus. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, Geerten Verheus. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, Drawing in Space - Folding Surface, 2021, Strings, UV light, approx. 8 sqm space (chamber) and approx. 10 sqm (Gallery corridor). Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, Drawing in Space - Folding Surface, 2021, Strings, UV light, approx. 8 sqm space (chamber) and approx. 10 sqm (Gallery corridor). Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021. 
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021. 
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View: Geerten Verheus, MEDIUM  (S) (M) (L) (XL), 1999-2018, PVC Strips, Size variable. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View: Geerten Verheus, MEDIUM  (S) (M) (L) (XL), 1999-2018, PVC Strips, Size variable. Photo: Gernot Seeliger
Installation View (Detail): Geerten Verheus, 1999-2018. Photo: Gernot Seeliger

41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installation View (Detail): Geerten Verheus, 1999-2018. Photo: Gernot Seeliger

4 ½ rooms
Installations by 
Jeongmoon Choi / Carola Ernst / Pegasus Product (Dargelos Kersten, 
Anton Peitersen and Gernot Seeliger) / Geerten Verheus

Opening hours:
Thu - Fri 12pm - 7pm, Sat 12pm - 6pm.
Visit in respect of the 2G regulation (as of 26.11.2021)
 
Galerie Georg Nothelfer is pleased to announce four artist positions for experimental large-scale installations.

For the duration of the exhibition, the artist collective Pegasus Product (Dargelos Kersten, Anton Peitersen and Gernot Seeliger) will transform part of the gallery into a massage parlor with a waiting room in front. Under the title Taxes & Tantra (2021), however, visitors can not only get a massage, but also tax advice at the same time, thus combining the beautiful with the useful. To be beautiful and useful is an expectation commonly placed on design objects, on perfectly formed furniture with proper names, original flower vases, or on lamps that not only provide light but are also meant to be an expression of a creative idea. Their functionality distinguishes these objects from the supposed "disinterestedness" of art. However, the fact that the two spheres cannot be separated crystal-clearly was already demonstrated by documenta III in 1964, which devoted a separate section to industrial design. Among the exhibits was the then relatively new lounge chair by Charles and Ray Eames, which has long since become a widely copied design icon. As the "Unbequeames lounge" it can also be found in the waiting room of the massage studio. Like all of Taxes & Tantra's other furnishings, it is assembled from recycled chipboard, metal parts, and other relics of the bourgeois "curated home," in which the processes of exchange between art and design, symbolic and practical value, have been set into lurching motion. 

In the opposite room, there is also a piece of furniture with a history: when unfolded, Carola Ernst's box-shaped structure functions both as a secretary and as a cabinet. Photographs of her previous works are fixed to the fabric-covered side wings, and a chair invites us to read the work information provided. As a cabinet, the furniture refers to collecting as a cultural practice and is as mobile as writing furniture was in its early days, when it was taken on trips. The object is also flexible in its content, as the constellations of images can always be reassembled. They identify it as a highly subjective pictorial atlas along the lines of Aby Warburg's, in which motifs from art history and cultural history enter into dialogue with one another across the epochs. The far-reaching title of the work - There was an eye in a bight/ That traveled much faster than light / It departed one day, / In a relative way, / And arrived on the previous night (ongoing since 2009) - reworks a famous limerick by the British natural scientist A.H. Reginald Buller from the 1920s - the decade of the Picture Atlas. The latter humorously alluded to the then still young physics of Albert Einstein and his revolutionary conception of the space-time relationship: Space and time are not absolute quantities, but relative. Instead of Buller's young woman, however, Carola Ernst's eye travels through space and time, from the present to the past, and on its journey establishes new connections between images and works. 

Geerten Verheus's 210-cm work GROßES GEGENTEIL (2021), which hangs from the ceiling, resembles a crystal chandelier stretched out in length. Instead of dozens of sparkling glass stones, however, an impenetrable black, bulbous rubber figure swells here into the gallery's central space. Its phallic associative potential is thwarted by the neon lamp that protrudes into its center from below and is swallowed by it. Its electric glow forces its way out of the narrow opening into the room and helps the object, as it were against its will, to fulfill its light-giving function. In Medium (1999-2018), the artist also plays a subversive game with the semantics of commercially available materials and the ways in which everyday objects are used. Its colorful PVC strip curtains otherwise serve as improvised threshold zones between inside and outside, private and public, work and home. Here, however, they refuse to mark such boundaries and access points: rather, in the rearmost gallery space, they take on a life of their own through their room-filling multiplication into a walk-in sculpture whose linear interplay of colors is reminiscent of the striped paintings of Color Field Painting. They virtually invert the immersive effect of the latter into the material reality of physical space, in which the thin PVC strips become an impenetrable labyrinth.

Jeongmoon Choi's spatial installations can also develop a tendency towards disorientation, yet they rely on a phenomenology of the immaterial that refers to virtual spaces and imaginary places. Even though they appear to be pure light architectures, they are based on black light and fluorescent fabric yarn that spans the space in concrete geometric figures, yet in some places ends abruptly and protrudes into the darkness of the room. The artist always orients herself closely to the found architectural situation, so that Drawing in Space - Folding Surface (2021) takes up the floor plan of a low chamber of the gallery space and translates it into a subtly interlaced web of light trails. In this graphic trace of light, which creates an 'immaterial' space in the room, lies an essential difference to the reduced installations with wool and acrylic threads or copper wires in Minimal Art and Neoconcretismo: in Jeongmoon Choi's installations, the real-physical space functions as an anchor point and yet is transgressed, expanded into the imaginary. Her volumetric light figures combine to form walk-in, immersive spatial images that turn one's own physical perception into a surprisingly ambiguous experience. 
.

Galerie

Georg Nothelfer

41/2 rooms. Groupshow

26. November 2021 bis 29. Januar 2022 ⟶ Galerie

Installationsansicht 4 1/2 rooms. Geerten Verheus, GROSSES GEGENTEIL, 2021, Gummi, Stahl, Neon Lampe, 210 x ø 80 cm. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht 4 1/2 rooms. Geerten Verheus, GROSSES GEGENTEIL, 2021, Gummi, Stahl, Neon Lampe, 210 x ø 80 cm. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht 4 1/2 rooms. Pegasus Product, Carola Ernst. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht 4 1/2 rooms. Pegasus Product, Carola Ernst. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Carola Ernst, there was an eye in a bight / that travelled much faster than light
it departed one day in a relative way / and arrived on the previous night, Mischtechnik, 2009 fortlaufend, Geschlossen: 167 x 84 x 40 cm (Dimensionen variabel), Auflage: 3, zwei Bodenplatten à 100 x 100 x 4 cm. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Carola Ernst, there was an eye in a bight / that travelled much faster than light
it departed one day in a relative way / and arrived on the previous night, Mischtechnik, 2009 fortlaufend, Geschlossen: 167 x 84 x 40 cm (Dimensionen variabel), Auflage: 3, zwei Bodenplatten à 100 x 100 x 4 cm. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Pegasus Product, 2021, Taxes and Tantra. (Einzelstücke auf Anfrage) Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, Geerten Verheus. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, Geerten Verheus. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, Drawing in Space - Folding Surface, 2021, Fäden, UV Licht, ca. 8 qm (Kammer) und ca. 10 qm (Galerie Gang). Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, Drawing in Space - Folding Surface, 2021, Fäden, UV Licht, ca. 8 qm (Kammer) und ca. 10 qm (Galerie Gang). Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021.
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021.
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Jeongmoon Choi, 2021. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht: Geerten Verheus, MEDIUM  (S) (M) (L) (XL), 1999-2018, PVC Schnüre, Größe variabel. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht: Geerten Verheus, MEDIUM  (S) (M) (L) (XL), 1999-2018, PVC Schnüre, Größe variabel. Foto: Gernot Seeliger
Installationsansicht (Detail): Geerten Verheus, 1999-2018. Foto: Gernot Seeliger


41/2 rooms. Groupshow
Installationsansicht (Detail): Geerten Verheus, 1999-2018. Foto: Gernot Seeliger


4 ½ rooms
Installations by 
Jeongmoon Choi / Carola Ernst / Pegasus Product (Dargelos Kersten, 
Anton Peitersen und Gernot Seeliger) / Geerten Verheus

26. November 2021 – 29. Januar 2022

Öffnungszeiten:
Do – Fr 12 – 19 Uhr, Sa 12 – 18 Uhr
Besuch unter Berücksichtigung der 2G-Regelung (Stand 26.11.2021)

Die Galerie Georg Nothelfer freut sich vier KünstlerInnen-Positionen für experimentelle Großinstallationen gewinnen zu können.

Für die Dauer der Ausstellung verwandelt das Künstlerkollektiv Pegasus Product (Dargelos Kersten, Anton Peitersen und Gernot Seeliger) einen Teil der Galerie in einen Massagesalon mit vorgelagertem Wartezimmer. Unter dem Titel Taxes & Tantra (2021) können sich die BesucherInnen aber nicht nur massieren, sondern zugleich steuerlich beraten lassen und so das Schöne mit dem Nützlichen verbinden. Schön und nützlich zu sein ist eine Erwartung, die gemeinhin an Designobjekte gestellt wird, an formvollendete Möbel mit Eigennamen, originelle Blumenvasen oder an Lampen, die nicht nur Licht spenden, sondern auch Ausdruck einer schöpferischen Idee sein sollen. Ihre Funktionalität grenzt diese Gegenstände von der vermeintlichen „Interesselosigkeit“ der Kunst ab. Dass beide Sphären nicht glasklar voneinander zu trennen sind, zeigte allerdings schon die documenta III im Jahr 1964, die dem Industriedesign eine eigene Abteilung widmete. Unter den Exponaten war der damals noch relativ neue Lounge Chair von Charles und Ray Eames, inzwischen längst eine vielfach kopierte Design-Ikone. Als „Unbequeames lounge“ findet er sich auch im Wartezimmer des Massagestudios. Wie alle anderen Einrichtungsgegenstände von Taxes & Tantra ist er zusammenmontiert aus wiederverwerteten Spanplatten, Metallteilen und sonstigen Relikten des bürgerlichen „curated home“, in dem die Austauschprozesse zwischen Kunst und Design, Symbol- und Gebrauchswert in schlingernde Bewegung geraten sind. 

Auch im Raum gegenüber steht ein Möbel mit Geschichte: Carola Ernsts kastenförmiger Aufbau fungiert in ausgeklapptem Zustand sowohl als Sekretär wie als Kabinettschrank. An den stoffbespannten Seitenflügeln sind Fotografien ihrer bisherigen Arbeiten fixiert, ein Stuhl lädt uns ein, die bereitliegenden Werkinformationen zu lesen. Als Kabinettschrank verweist das Möbel auf das Sammeln als kulturelle Praxis und ist dabei so beweglich wie Schreibmöbel in ihrer Frühzeit, als sie auf Reisen mitgenommen wurden. Flexibel ist das Objekt auch in seinem Inhalt, da die Bildkonstellationen immer neu zusammengefügt werden können. Sie weisen es als höchst subjektiven Bilderatlas nach dem Vorbild Aby Warburgs aus, in dem kunst- und kulturgeschichtliche Motive über die Epochen hinweg miteinander in Dialog treten. Der weit ausholende Werktitel – There was an eye in a bight/ That travelled much faster than light / It departed one day, / In a relative way, / And arrived on the previous night (seit 2009 fortlaufend) – wandelt einen berühmten Limerick des britischen Naturwissenschaftlers A.H. Reginald Buller aus den 1920er Jahren – dem Jahrzehnt des Bilderatlas – ab. Dieser spielte humorvoll auf die damals noch junge Physik Albert Einsteins und seine revolutionäre Konzeption des Raum-Zeit-Verhältnisses an: Raum und Zeit sind keine absoluten Größen, sondern relativ. Statt der jungen Frau bei Buller reist bei Carola Ernst jedoch ein Auge durch Raum und Zeit, von der Gegenwart in die Vergangenheit, und stellt auf seiner Reise neue Verbindungen zwischen Bildern und Werken her.

Geerten Verheus’ 210 cm große, von der Decke hängende Arbeit GROßES GEGENTEIL (2021) gleicht in ihrer Form einem in die Länge gezogenen Kristalllüster. Anstelle Dutzender funkelnder Glassteine schwillt hier jedoch eine undurchdringbar schwarze, bauchige Gummigestalt in den mittleren Raum der Galerie. Ihr phallisches Assoziationspotential wird durchkreuzt durch die Neonlampe, die von unten in ihre Mitte hineinragt und von ihr verschluckt wird. Deren elektrischer Schein zwängt sich aus der schmalen Öffnung in den Raum und verhilft dem Objekt gleichsam wider Willen zur Erfüllung seiner lichtspendenden Funktion. Ein subversives Spiel mit der Semantik handelsüblicher Materialien und den Gebrauchsweisen alltäglicher Objekte treibt der Künstler auch bei Medium (1999-2018). Dessen bunte PVC-Streifenvorhänge dienen sonst als improvisierte Schwellenzonen zwischen Innen und Außen, Privat und Öffentlich, Arbeit und Wohnen. Einer solchen Grenz- und Zugangsmarkierung verweigern sie sich hier jedoch: Vielmehr verselbständigen sie sich im hintersten Galerieraum durch ihre raumfüllende Vervielfachung zu einer begehbaren Skulptur, die im linearen Farbenspiel an Streifenbilder des Color Field Painting erinnert. Dessen immersive Wirkung stülpen sie quasi in die materielle Realität des physischen Raums, in dem die dünnen PVC-Streifen zum undurchdringlichen Labyrinth werden. 

Eine Tendenz zur Desorientierung können auch die Rauminstallationen von Jeongmoon Choi entfalten, dabei setzen sie jedoch auf eine Phänomenologie des Immateriellen, die auf virtuelle Räume und imaginäre Orte verweist. Auch wenn sie wie reine Lichtarchitekturen erscheinen, basieren sie auf Schwarzlicht und fluoreszierendem Stoffgarn, das in konkreten geometrischen Figuren den Raum durchspannt, dabei jedoch an mancher Stelle abrupt endet und ins Dunkel des Raums hineinragt. Die Künstlerin orientiert sich immer eng an der vorgefundenen architektonischen Situation, so dass Drawing in Space – Folding Surface (2021) den Grundriss einer niedrigen Kammer des Galerieraums aufgreift und in ein subtil verschachteltes Gespinst von Lichtbahnen übersetzt. In dieser zeichnerischen Spur aus Licht, die einen ‚immateriellen‘ Raum im Raum entstehen lässt, liegt ein wesentlicher Unterschied zu den reduzierten Installationen mit Woll- und Acrylfäden oder Kupferdrähten in Minimal Art und Neoconcretismo: In Jeongmoon Chois Installationen fungiert der real-physische Raum als Ankerpunkt und wird doch überschritten, ins Imaginäre erweitert. Ihre volumetrischen Licht-Figuren fügen sich zu begehbaren, immersiven Raum-Bildern, welche die eigene körperliche Wahrnehmung zu einer überraschend doppelbödigen Erfahrung werden lassen. 
.